Blast from the past: what do you still Google for?

This is an article I wrote in March 2009, and it’s essentially a more elaborate version of Steve Job’s subsequent comment about search on the iPhone: ““When people want to find a place to go out to dinner, they’re not searching they’re going into Yelp”.

“Here’s one thing everyone knows:  Google’s success lies in managing abundance, delivering relevant results.

Here’s one thing that apparently is not related to this:  a report on how Facebook could kill Google, based on analysis from Ross Sandler. (Just so that you know, the article doesn’t  say how Facebook could kill Google, it just compares the size and growth rate of the two giants. FAIL!)

Here’s one thing worth thinking about: how Facebook could damage Google. Not as a social network in itself (in a way Google is a social network), not as a competitive ad destination (there’s still plenty of money to flow towards online advertising), but as an alternative search engine. Here’s why.

Google is great at simplifying complexity. But it’s a universal search engine, and there’s only so much it can do.  So it inevitably loses some ground to its competitors. And they’re not Yahoo or Msn.

When I want to know something, I search Wikipedia. Because I’m sure that it’s where I can find the single, most relevant result. (Even Google acknowledges that, by usually ranking Wikipedia results first). And from there, I can move on to related information.

When I want to buy something, I search Amazon. Well, I don’t,  because I’m old fashioned, but plenty of people do.

When I want to watch something, I search Youtube. And that’s what killed Google Video; and why Google bought it.

When I want to find out what’s going on right now about a certain event, I search Twitter. Twitter gives me real time results. Not only Google doesn’t. Google is designed not to, because it privileges older results that have had time to grow relevant for its algorythm, over more recent ones that are relevant for my search. (Google subsequently tried to address this.)

And when I want to find someone, I search Facebook. Not only is it  a search engine for people; it’s the most relevant search engine for people. (At least in the US and most of Western Europe). With the first click, I get a list of people with pictures, so that I know at first sight if any of them is the person I’m looking for. With the second click, I can contact them, and in many cases find out a whole lot about them.

If I have more of a business interest in someone, I search Linkedin. All the other considerations still apply.

To that same extent, every social network becomes an alternative search engine: a specialized, thus more relevant, thus better one. If I want to plan a dinner out, I’m better off running my search in a social network about restaurants/london (eg. Yelp, Timeout…) than googling “good restaurant london”, and be flooded by a number of more or less relevant results.

One could argue that Google would redirect me to that social network, and many others, but why waste time with one more unnecessary search, once a preminent, relevant social network emerges?

This is true for simple tasks, but even more so for more sophisticated ones. If I have to research a topic I know little or nothing about, for work or study, where should I start from? If I google it, I can’t really tell the relevant results from the less relevant, and above that the most credible results from the BS, because I have no expertise in the subject.

So here’s what I’d do:

Firstly, I start from my usual, trusted sources:  Wikipedia and other knowledge social networks. Ask friends and  coworkers, fellow students. Maybe ask someone on Linkedin.

Then, I turn to trusted public sources. Newspapers and magazines with a good reputation. (And who happen to be desperately looking for a new purpose right now, as brilliantly pointed out by Clay Shirky.)

Thirdly, if I haven’t found enough information through my first two sources, or if I want a little more, I can Google. And hopefully by now the first two kinds of sources will have provided me with enough backround expertise to tell the good from the bad.

Does it mean that social networks will kill Google? No. At least not if we look at “Google as an ad platform”.

But I can safely say that  “Google as a search engine” has been steadily losing share of my time, and will keep losing more.”

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Blast from the past: what do you still Google for?

  1. […] I indulged in a bit Google slapping in some of my last posts, but since I’m very much aware that this seems to be one of Blog-land […]

Leave a Reply

